2022 Piñon Awards Recipients Announced

Announcing 2022 Piñon Awards Recipients

The Santa Fe Community Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of its 2022 Piñon Awards. The awards, conferred annually by the Foundation since 1987, recognize local nonprofit organizations and philanthropists for their extraordinary contributions to northern New Mexico communities.

This year's awardees, which include an individual and five organizations serving the Foundation’s funding region of Mora, Rio Arriba, San Miguel, and Santa Fe counties, were selected in six categories from over two dozen nominations submitted by the public. They will be honored at the 36th Annual Piñon Awards ceremony and dinner on Thursday, October 6, 2022 at La Fonda on the Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Tickets will be available for purchase at santafecf.org starting September 1, 2022.

“This is one of our most time-honored traditions," said Christopher Goett, president and CEO of the Santa Fe Community Foundation. "For over three decades, the Piñon Awards have allowed us to shine light on the people and organizations that are driving positive change across our region with unwavering commitment, generosity, and innovation.”

In keeping with past years, the five winning nonprofits will each receive an unrestricted grant from the Santa Fe Community Foundation and airtime on KSFR's Community Matters radio show to discuss the impact of their work.

“It’s astounding to think of the collective impact of this year’s awardees,” said Beth Beloff, board chair of the Santa Fe Community Foundation. “They have created a ripple of good across our region, bettering the lives of countless individuals and families. We can’t wait to express our gratitude at this year’s award ceremony.” 


2022 Award Categories and Winners

Courageous Innovation Award — NDI New Mexico

The Courageous Innovation Award honors an organization that uses a bold approach to solve a persistent problem in the community. NDI New Mexico was founded with the knowledge that the arts have a unique power to engage and motivate children. Their innovative programs help children develop discipline, a standard of excellence, and a belief in themselves that will carry over into all aspects of their lives.

Quiet Inspiration Award — Gerard’s House

The Quiet Inspiration Award honors an organization that provides consistent high-quality services and opportunities despite changes in the external environment. Gerard’s House has provided a safe place for grieving children, teens, and families, where healing happens through acceptance and peer support. Since 1997, they have helped more than 10,000 children and youth regain hope, stabilize physically and psychologically, and restore sustaining relationships with family and friends in the face of serious loss.

Tried and True Award — The Food Depot

The Tried and True Award honors an organization whose hallmark it is to work quietly and respectfully among a wide range of people in the community. The Food Depot has a clear and simple vision: healthy, hunger-free communities in northern New Mexico. They work toward that vision by engaging a network of partners to develop solutions to create a hunger-free New Mexico.

Visionary Award — STEM Santa Fe

The Visionary Award honors an organization that is making measurable progress toward a well-articulated and achievable vision for what is to come. STEM Santa Fe advocates for, develops, and provides STEM programming, mentoring, and resources for all youth— especially underrepresented groups in STEM — to realize their potential and expand their opportunities in a dynamic world.

Resiliency Award — The Sky Center: New Mexico Suicide Intervention Project

The Resiliency Award honors an organization that is building the resilience of those most vulnerable to emergencies, including efforts to respond to natural disasters, public health crises, and/or systemic injustices. The Sky Center meets the challenge of youth suicide in Santa Fe and northern New Mexico through lasting solutions that encourage confidence, courage, connection, and hope.  

Philanthropic Leader Award — Tom Starke

The Philanthropic Leader Award honors an individual, family, or family foundation with a proven record of financial generosity and/or volunteer leadership. Tom Starke is an individual with demonstrated civic, charitable, and volunteer leadership. In his quiet and understated manner, Tom is a force for good in Santa Fe and northern New Mexico and a tireless advocate and strategist who creates services, programming, and awareness regarding substance abuse.  

Aug 17, 2022
News & Stories

Related stories

View all