Announcing 2023 Piñon Awards Recipients

Honoring excellence in northern New Mexico's nonprofit sector

The Santa Fe Community Foundation is delighted to announce the winners of its 2023 Piñon Awards: Institute of American Indian Arts, New Mexico Acequia Association, Searchlight New Mexico, and Scott’s House. The awards, presented annually by the Foundation since 1987, are a prestigious recognition of excellence within northern New Mexico’s nonprofit sector.  

This year's honorees were selected in four categories from an extraordinary pool of nominations. Over 90 people wrote heartfelt letters of support for 60+ nonprofit organizations serving Mora, Rio Arriba, Santa Fe, and San Miguel counties — a remarkable turnout more than double that of previous years.

“Our community’s resounding support this year not only underscores the vital role of local nonprofits, but speaks to the strength of this year’s awardees,” said Christopher Goett, President & CEO of the Santa Fe Community Foundation. "We’re looking forward to celebrating their many contributions during our awards ceremony this fall."  

The 37th Annual Piñon Awards Ceremony will be held on Tuesday, October 10, 2023 at La Fonda on the Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Tickets will be available for public purchase starting Friday, September 1, 2023 through the Foundation's website:

In keeping with past years, the four winning nonprofits will each receive a $5,000 unrestricted grant from the Santa Fe Community Foundation with underwriting support from Enterprise Bank & Trust.

"This year's honorees have displayed a tremendous commitment to our region's most vulnerable families and communities," said Dion Silva, Regional President of Enterprise Bank & Trust. "It's our great honor to support their missions."   

2023 Award Categories and Winners

Courageous Innovation Award — Searchlight New Mexico

The Courageous Innovation Award honors an organization that is using a bold and courageous approach, based on sound theory, to create new solutions to persistent problems. Searchlight New Mexico delivers high-quality journalism and investigative work for the betterment of our community. Their fearless reporting confronts abuses of power, corruption, and racial and economic inequities — ultimately driving positive change across our region.

Quiet Inspiration Award — Scott's House

The Quiet Inspiration Award honors an organization whose hallmark is to work quietly and respectfully among a wide range of people in the community, and has earned the longtime support and trust of its constituents. With a dedicated and compassionate team of volunteers, Scott’s House provides exceptional end-of-life and respite care for low-income individuals in need.

Resiliency Award — New Mexico Acequia Association

The Resiliency Award honors an organization that builds the resilience of people and communities most vulnerable to emergencies, such as natural disasters, public health crises, and systemic injustices. The New Mexico Acequia Association enhances the resilience of our region by protecting our water and acequias, growing healthy food for families and communities, and honoring our cultural heritage. Following 2022’s devastating wildfires, the association has worked tirelessly to restore northern New Mexico’s damaged acequia systems.

Tried & True Award — Institute of American Indian Arts

The Tried & True Award honors an organization that has served the community for over a decade with consistent and high-quality programs, services, and opportunities despite changes in the external environment. A beacon of excellence in Indigenous academics, the Institute of American Indian Arts has empowered creativity and leadership in Native arts and cultures through higher education, lifelong learning, and outreach since 1962.

Aug 15, 2023
News & Stories

Related stories

View all