2019 Award Nominations

The Pinon Award Selection Committee met and has selected the 2019 Pinon Award winners. Winners will be announced to the public in late August 2019 and we hope you will join us at the Pinon Awards event on the evening of Monday, October 7, 2019 at La Fonda.

Thanks again to everybody who nominated an organization for consideration for a 2019 Pinon Award – we so appreciate our nonprofit partners!

To view the list of all past winners, please click here.

2018 Award Winners

Courageous Innovation Award: Assistance Dogs of the West

The Courageous Innovation Award honors an organization that uses a bold approach to solve a persistent problem in the community. Assistance Dogs of the West (ADW) builds successful living and working relationships between clients and dogs, aiming to empower people and open doors to new opportunities. From the original founding in 1995, ADW has provided traditional training and matching of assistance dogs to persons with physical disabilities, progressive diseases, and families with children who have special needs. A conscious decision was made in 2011 to expand ADW’s Courthouse Facility Dog program and Crisis Response Canines. In addition, ADW began the development of the Warrior Canine Connection, a trauma-informed program that teaches veterans of various combats to help train the service dogs as part of their non-pharmaceutical therapy for PTSD and Traumatic Brain Injury.

Tried & True Award: Museum of New Mexico Foundation

The Tried & True Award honors an organization that is known for consistent high-quality programming, despite changes in the external environment. The Museum of New Mexico Foundation (MNMF) has steadfastly pursued its mission within the Santa Fe community since 1962. Its mission is to seek and provide private support for the following state-funded institutions: the New Mexico History Museum, the New Mexico Museum of Art, the Museum of International Folk Art, the Museum of Indian Arts and Culture, the Office of Archeological Studies, and seven historic sites spread across our state. MNMF has created a culture of giving and support of our cultural heritage that unifies its members and builds critical support for the museums’ missions.

Visionary Award: Ohkay Owingeh Housing Authority

The Visionary Award honors an organization that can anticipate the unmet needs of future generations and has the stamina to achieve success. The Ohkay Owingeh Housing Authority (OOHA) was established in 1997 when the federal government returned control of tribal housing issues to the tribes. Careful planning and implementation of a diverse range of housing projects, coupled with vision and bold decision making have enabled OOHA to break new ground in this ancient place. OOHA has been awarded nationwide for is creative housing projects such as the Owe’neh Bupingeh Rehabilitation Program. The program has gathered resources to restore 34 homes on the 700-year old historic Pueblo. Through the Owe’neh Bupingeh Rehabilitation Program, the Pueblo is once again a vibrant, thriving residential area.

Policy Champion Award: Drug Policy Alliance

The Policy Champion Award honors an organization that is creating positive social change by focusing on a policy and systems-based approach to long-term transformation in our region. The Drug Policy Alliance envisions a just society in which the use and regulation of drugs are grounded in science, compassion, health and human rights, in which people are no longer punished for what they put into their own bodies but only for crimes committed against others, and in which the fears, prejudices and punitive prohibitions of today are no more. Their mission is to advance those policies and attitudes that best reduce the harms of both drug use and drug prohibition, and to promote the sovereignty of individuals over their minds and bodies.

The Drug Policy Alliance’s work in New Mexico began in 2000 where they advised Governor Johnson on his drug policy reform agenda and building relationships with other elected officials and community-based health organizations. Drafting more than a dozen policy reforms during his administration, New Mexico quickly became a national leader in drug policy with the assistance of The Drug Policy Alliance. After many years of policy work at a state level and unsuccess with current administrations, The Drug Policy Alliance revised their advocacy strategy by implementing the LEAD program at a local level. LEAD assists people who are struggling with substance use disorders and cycling in and out of the criminal justice system. The model is simple but powerful: trained police officers identify people who would otherwise be arrested for low-level offenses, but instead of charging them with a crime or booking them into jail, the officers bring them to a community-based center for acute care, case management, and referrals to services.

Philanthropic Leadership Award: Bruce and Mary Anne Larsen

The Philanthropic Leadership Award recognizes leaders for their dedication to building healthy and vital communities. Awardees have close connections to the Santa Fe Community Foundation and are motivated by a sense of community over a sense of self and exhibit innovative and creative philanthropic responses to unmet needs.

Bruce and Mary Anne Larsen are long-time supporters and champions of the Santa Fe Community Foundation as donors and volunteers, including Mary Anne’s current board service at the Foundation. Since moving to Santa Fe in 1995, in addition to many other volunteer roles in our community ranging from support for the arts to education to Native American youth to health services, Bruce and Mary Anne actively seek to use their philanthropy to promote creative and positive growth within the nonprofits they support.

To view the list of all past winners, please click here.